I wish I would have known…

 

I came across the video above while researching Quinnipiac University during the process of applying to graduate school. To be completely honest with you, dear reader, I hadn’t heard of Quinnipiac before two insiders pointed me to it.

A couple years ago, while still being an undergraduate student at Ruhr-Universität Bochum (the 30,000 student institution in Bochum, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany that I call my alma mater), I had decided to pursue an English language program at a U.S. university. One of the first options I found had been a program that was part of the summer sessions at Yale University. I applied, was accepted, and had the best time of my life.

The idea of studying in the U.S. had been in my mind ever since my first day at college. This experience strengthened my belief that studying in the U.S. was something I wanted to experience.

I had two professors for the three main classes at Yale; both are teaching at Quinnipiac year-round. When they heard of my plans for the future, they introduced me to Quinnipiac. And that’s how the whole story began.

I’ve made my own experiences over the past four weeks. It’s time to write about what I wish I would have known before I made the first step on this journey.

The next few entries will address several obstacles I hadn’t thought about beforehand, and I will show you how I’ve experienced campus life (and life in general) in New England during the past few weeks.

Thanks for reading,

Florian

One thought on “I wish I would have known…

  1. Felicity Green February 9, 2014 / 5:27 PM

    I’m very much looking forward to learning about QU and New England in general from the pov of a visiting international student! What a great idea for a blog. Kathy

Leave a Reply

